Document Type



This comment is about the Arctic Council. The Arctic Council (the Council) is an inter-governmental forum promoting cooperation and interaction among the Arctic states, indigenous peoples, and other inhabitants of the Arctic region on issues of sustainability and environmental protection. The Council has eight member States: Denmark, Finland, Norway, Sweden, Canada, United States, Russia, and Iceland. There are also observer States, who are non-Arctic countries and permanent participants, six indigenous peoples groups living in the Arctic. This comment delves into the history of the Council, discusses its starting goals, and how it has evolved over the last twenty years. This comment also explores the current state of the Council and the increasing amount of tension between Arctic States and non-Arctic States as the Arctic sea ice disappears, more travel routes open, new territory emerges, and the prospect of natural resources that have yet to be tapped into. Lastly, this comment will present some recommendations for how the Council should handle the changing conditions and relationships amongst the Arctic countries, non-Arctic countries, and indigenous people.

First Page




To view the content in your browser, please download Adobe Reader or, alternately,
you may Download the file to your hard drive.

NOTE: The latest versions of Adobe Reader do not support viewing PDF files within Firefox on Mac OS and if you are using a modern (Intel) Mac, there is no official plugin for viewing PDF files within the browser window.